Four Arab countries to discuss new sanctions against Qatar

Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Egypt will hold a meeting at which, presumably, will discuss the introduction of new economic and political sanctions against Qatar. On Sunday, July 30, Reuters reports with reference to the newspaper “al-Hayat”.

The meeting will be held on Sunday at the level of foreign Ministers in Bahrain’s capital Manama. It is expected that the Ministry “will impose sanctions that will have an impact on the economy of Qatar,” the Agency quoted the sources of Arabic Newspapers.

On the eve news Agency BNA Bahrain says king Hamad bin ISA al Khalifa met with the foreign Ministers of Saudi Arabia, UAE and Egypt and expressed the need for cooperation in order to fight terrorism.

22 Jun Qatar gave a list of 13 demands, which included the closure of the TV channel Al Jazeera and the Turkish military base, the cessation of diplomatic relations with Iran, and contacts with the organisation “Brothers-Moslems”. Also we are talking about suspension of Doha acts of provocation, terrorism, refusal of providing financial assistance to terrorist organizations, non-interference in the internal Affairs of other States.

Two weeks before that, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Bahrain and the UAE announced the severance of diplomatic relations with Qatar, accusing Doha of destabilizing the political situation in the Arab States and supporting terrorism. The boycott was later joined by Yemen, Libya, Maldives, Mauritius, Mauritania, Union of Comoros.

At the same time against Doha imposed sanctions, including, in particular, a ban on the supply of food in the country. The government of Qatar, all deny the charges and call the isolation an infringement of States to sovereignty.