Winners of World Press Photo 2017

Winners of World Press Photo 2017

Became known winners of the 60th annual international prize of photojournalism World Press Photo.

The main prize was awarded to photographer Burhan Ozbilici for the killer Russian Ambassador Andrei Karlov in Turkey, writes the Associated Press.

Also, the awards were four Russian photographer: Elena Anosov, Sergey Ponomarev, Valery Melnikov and Kristina Kormilitsyna.

Anosov took second place in the category “Daily life” for picture story “of the way” about life in the village on the river lower Tunguska. Ponomarev — second place in the category “Events” for photos from Iraq about the battle for the liberation of Mosul.

Melnikov won in the nomination “Long-term project” for a photo essay “the Black days of Ukraine”. Kormilitsyna took third place in the category “People” for a photograph of a woman with a girl, over which hangs a portrait of Fidel Castro.

The World Press Photo contest has been held annually since 1955 and is considered one of the most prestigious competitions for photojournalists. Last year the main award was won by the Australian Warren Richardson for the photo “Hope for a new life.”

Burhan, Ozbilici | Source: AP 2016