US to ban entry to residents of eight countries due to new COVID-19 strain

CNBC: The US will ban entry from eight African countries from November 29 due to the new COVID-19 strain

US authorities from Monday, On November 29, residents of eight African countries will be banned from entering due to the spread of a new strain of COVID-19 B.1.1.529, dubbed omicron. This is reported by CNBC, citing high-ranking officials from the administration of US President Joe Biden.

The restrictions will affect residents of South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique and Malawi.

According to the TV channel, the decision was made less than three weeks after the administration of President Biden lifted restrictions on entry to the country for visitors from more than 30 countries.

Earlier, Turkish Health Minister Fahrettin Koca said that the republic will ban from Friday, November 26, entry from Botswana, South Africa (South Africa), Mozambique, Namibia and Zimbabwe due to the spread of a new strain of coronavirus. Before that, restrictions on air traffic with South Africa and neighboring countries were introduced by the European Union, Great Britain, Singapore and Japan. The first reports of infection with the new B.1.1.529 strain appeared in South Africa, Botswana and Hong Kong on November 24.



Leave a Reply