UK to suspend flights to six countries over new COVID-19 strain

Britain canceled flights to South Africa and five other countries due to a new strain of COVID-19

Britain cancels flights to six African countries from – for a new strain of coronavirus. The head of the British Ministry of Health, Sajid Javid, said on his Twitter account.

According to him, from November 26, London will stop flights to Botswana, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, Namibia, Eswatini and South Africa. He noted that this decision was made due to a new strain of coronavirus B.1.1.529 identified in the African region, which may be more infectious than others.

The Minister also stressed that the Security Agency in the area UK Healthcare is currently investigating this COVID-19 variant, but it is necessary to await more detailed data on it. In addition, he added that Britons returning from these countries will be required to comply with quarantine upon arrival.

Earlier it was reported that the World Health Organization (WHO) will convene an emergency meeting due to the new strain of coronavirus B.1.1 .529, recently discovered in Botswana, South Africa and Hong Kong on Friday, November 26th.

On November 24, it was reported that ten people were infected with strain B.1.1.529 in South Africa, Botswana and Hong Kong. British scientists have suggested that the new strain will be better at evading antibodies than the delta variant. The many mutations in B.1.1.529 suggest that the virus originated in a patient with a weakened immune system – a patient with HIV or AIDS. It is believed to be the most dangerous infection.



Leave a Reply