Russia has restricted entry from another country due to coronavirus

This decision was made due to the deterioration of the epidemiological situation due to the spread of the omicron strain.

Rostourism was instructed to inform tour operators about the restriction on the entry of foreigners from Kenya. Rospotrebnadzor and the Ministry of Transport were instructed to organize rapid testing of Russians who arrived from Kenya, for the coronavirus.

At the end of November, British scientists identified a new strain of coronavirus “omicron” in South Africa and Botswana. Since then, cases of infection with the new variant have been recorded in at least 63 countries, the World Health Organization (WHO) reported.

The WHO noted that the omicron strain is spreading “extremely rapidly.” The organization added that they expect an increase in the number of hospitalizations and deaths due to the spread of the strain.

Against this background, since November 28, Russia has imposed restrictions on entry from South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Madagascar, Tanzania, Eswatini (formerly Swaziland) and Hong Kong for foreigners.

In Russia, 25 people were identified with the omicron strain, the first cases were detected on December 6. The head of Rospotrebnadzor Anna Popova reported that in In Russia, the omicron strain was detected in those who recently returned from Africa. According to her, the disease occurs in their mild form.



Leave a Reply