Four countries condemn Iran's refusal to pay compensation for Ukraine's Boeing

Britain, Canada, Ukraine and Sweden condemned Iran’s refusal to pay compensation for Boeing compensation for the downed Boeing plane of Ukraine International Airlines, according to a joint statement of the four countries, quoted by TASS.

Citizens of these countries were on board flight PS752, which crashed. Deep disappointment was expressed over Tehran's refusal to meet on 22 November 2021 to discuss the issue of reparations.

“We remind the Islamic Republic of Iran that, in accordance with international law, it is obliged to pay reparations in full group of countries, and we reiterate our call to begin negotiations in good faith before the end of this year, ”the ministers of the four countries said in a statement.

The UK, Canada, Ukraine and Sweden will continue to pursue Iran's accountability and will consider the issue on possible measures to resolve the issue within the framework of international law if Tehran continues to evade compensation.

Earlier, the court of the Canadian province of Ontario concluded that Iran had committed a deliberate act of terrorism, shooting down a Boeing 737 of Ukraine International Airlines. The document states that the Islamic Revolutionary Guards Corps (IRGC) knew about the civil status of the flight and “the plane was fired upon with the clear intent to destroy it.”

Ukraine International Airlines' Boeing 737-800 crashed after taking off Tehran airport on January 8, 2020. 176 people were killed: citizens of Iran, Ukraine, Canada, Great Britain, Germany, Sweden and Afghanistan. Iran claims that the blame for the disaster lies with the operator of the air defense system. The aircraft was identified as an enemy target, after which two missiles were fired at it.