The EU approved an agreement with London on Brexit

The EU approved an agreement with London on Brexit

Leaders of the 27 EU countries have approved its part of the agreement with Britain about Brexit. This was stated by the President of the European Council, Donald Tusk, reports TASS.


“27 EU countries approved the agreement on secession and the political Declaration on future relations between the EU and the UK,” he wrote on Twitter.

The Agency notes that Spain was satisfied with the safeguards on Gibraltar. On the eve of Prime Minister Theresa may said London and Brussels failed to agree on extending the transition period for Gibraltar, but stressed that the authorities will not abandon the position of Britain’s sovereignty over the overseas territory.

Remains the unresolved issue of the border between an EU member state Ireland and coming out of it in the UK Northern Ireland. The parties agreed to determine this until July 1, 2020.

The transition period after the transaction will continue until the end of 2020. Later it can be extended only once. During this time Britain essentially has to perform all the duties of countries — participants of EU and abide by all the rules of the European market, however, cease to participate in decision-making in the European Union. Also at this time, London will pay a contribution to the budget of the Association in the amount of about £13 billion ($16,65 billion) a year.

November 14, Theresa may announced that the British government supported the draft agreement on Brexit and noted that this step will allow the country to move on.

23 Jun 2016 referendum almost 17.5 million (51,89%) of Britons favoured their country’s exit from the EU.