The government of Dmitry Medvedev resigned

The government of Dmitry Medvedev resigned

Moscow. May 7. INTERFAX.RU. The Russian government led by Dmitry Medvedev had resigned in connection with the beginning of a new period of Vladimir Putin, who earlier today took office as President. In accordance with article 116 of the Constitution, the Prime Minister signs the resignation of the Cabinet before the new head of state.

It is expected that the name of the new Prime Minister, the country will know in the near future. Six years ago, the name of the candidate for the position of head of the government was named by Putin in less than two hours after the inauguration ceremony.

Read also: Medvedev said he has no plans to retire

Resignation, in addition to the Prime Minister, for his deputies and Federal Ministers. The present government is composed of nine Deputy Prime Ministers, including one first, and 22 of the Federal Minister. According to the Constitution, they are required to fulfil the duties before formation of new Cabinet.