Ukraine declared Russia the “land-occupier”

Ukraine declared Russia the “land-occupier”

The Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine adopted the law on the reintegration of Donbass, in which Russia recognized as “occupier country”. Reports about it “Strenia”.

The adoption of the bill No. 7163 “On peculiarities of state policy on ensuring state sovereignty of Ukraine on the temporarily occupied territories in the Donetsk and Lugansk regions” was supported by 280 deputies in the required 226. 36 voted against, 2 abstained. 33 deputies did not vote. Only the hall was attended by 351 MP.

The document must be signed by the President of Ukraine Petro Poroshenko. It will enter into force on the day following the day of its publication in the official press.

The law defines the temporarily occupied territories of Donetsk and Luhansk regions parts of these regions, over which was placed under the control of “armed forces of the Russian Federation” and “the occupation administration of Russia”. “The temporary occupation by Russia of territories of Ukraine, regardless of its duration, is illegal and does not create for Russia’s territorial rights,” the document says. It also allows to send troops to use armed forces at any time and indefinitely, gives the President the authority to declare martial law. In addition, Russia is responsible for “moral and material damages caused to Ukraine, its public authorities and local self-government”.

Parliament is considering a bill on the reintegration of Donbass in the second reading from the 16th of January. The bill 4 October last year submitted to the Parliament by the President Petro Poroshenko. Parliament voted at first reading on 6 October.

Kiev constantly accuses Russia of some aggressive actions, including involvement in armed conflict in the Donbass. The Ukrainian courts do not recognize the fact of aggression of Russia. Moscow, for its part, rejects the allegations of the Ukrainian authorities, pointing out the lack of evidence.