The canadian authorities have imposed sanctions against 30 Russians

The canadian authorities have imposed sanctions against 30 Russians

Moscow. 3 Nov. INTERFAX.RU — the government of Canada decided to impose sanctions against the 52 foreigners, including 30 citizens of Russia, said Friday in a press release on the website of the canadian government.

According to the statement, all assets of persons placed under sanctions, is frozen, and these people will be denied entry to Canada. In a press release stressed that sanctions against the 52 individuals, including 30 Russians have been adopted in accordance with the earlier Parliament of Canada “Law on victims of corrupt foreign governments.”

The document notes that “Canada adopts sanctions, effective immediately, against 30 Russians” in connection with the case related to the death in prison of the employee of Fund Hermitage Capital of Sergei Magnitsky. Among the persons against whom sanctions have been imposed — the head of the Investigative Committee Alexander Bastrykin, a former Deputy Minister of internal Affairs Alexey Anichin, Alexei Droganov, Alexander GAUS and others.

“The law on victims of corrupt foreign governments” came into force in October, after it was approved in the house of Commons and Senate of Canada. The adopted law is similar to the American “Magnitsky act” signed in 2012 by former President Barack Obama.

Earlier, Russian President Vladimir Putin said that the basis of the so-called “Magnitsky act”, providing a package of anti-Russian sanctions are political games and common crime.