President of the RAS was Alexander Sergeev

President of the RAS was Alexander Sergeev

The President of the Russian Academy of Sciences was Alexander Sergeyev. The correspondent reports about it Indicator.Ru citing a source in the Russian Academy of Sciences. Sergeev won the second round, with 1045 votes. His opponent, Robert Nigmatullin, scored 412 votes.

The day before the General meeting of the RAS, where the candidates made electoral programmes. After the speeches of the candidates the members of the Academy discussed the nominations. The greatest support was received by academician Sergeev. For it urged to vote the former President of the RAS Vladimir Fortov, academician Valery Rubakov and Yuri Solomonov.

Gennady Krasnikov was supported by Nobel laureate Zhores Alferov. Academician Eric Galimov had played for Robert Nigmatulin. Evgeny Kablov among others was supported by academician Alexey Kontorovich and Vladislav Panchenko — academician REM Petrov.

Before the start of election week and during the first day of the General meeting, many members of the RAS have expressed fears that elections may fail due to the fact that does not reach a quorum. However, by the evening of 25 September, the acting President of the RAS Valery Kozlov said that the turnout will be high.

For the post of head of the Academy, claimed Yevgeny Kablov, General Director of the Russian research Institute of aviation materials (VIAM), Gennady Krasnikov, Chairman of the Board of Directors of JSC “Mikron”, Robert Nigmatulin, head of the research Institute of Oceanology named after P. P. Shirshov, Vladislav Panchenko, scientific Director of the Institute on laser and information technologies Russian Academy of Sciences, Alexander Sergeyev, Director of the FTC Institute of applied physics RAS. The former head of Academy of Sciences was academician Vladimir Fortov.