Individual EU extends sanctions against Russia

Individual EU extends sanctions against Russia

The updated list included 149 individuals and legal entities. 38 the Sanctions will remain in force until 15 March 2018.

The Council of the EU extended sanctions against Russia by six months, until 15 March 2018. The measures include the seizure of assets and ban on entry into the countries of the Union. The sanctions apply to 149 people and 38 organizations, said in a statement on the website of the EU Council.

From the sanctions list excluded four people in connection with their deaths. Three legal entities from sanctions lists of the past held a merger of their names from the list disappeared, the EU authorities added to the list of new structure.

The legal act on the extension of the sanctions will be published on September 15 in the EU Official journal.

Assessment of the situation did not justify changing the sanctions regime.The Council of the EU

The Agency Reuters with reference to sources in Brussels said on 6 September that the member countries of the EU agreed on the extension of sanctions. Interlocutors of the edition have made “technical changes” in the sanctions list. In the previous edition of the list was included 153 people and 40 organizations.

In addition to the personal sanctions the EU imposed against Russia restrictive measures on individual sectors of the economy and sanctions against the Republic of Crimea and Sevastopol city. The latter was extended until the end of June 2018, they include the prohibition to invest in the economy of the Peninsula, a ban on the import of products from Crimea, for the provision of tourist services, as well as other limitations.

Sectoral sanctions were extended for six months on June 28. They limit the access of Russian banks with majority state share in capital on European financial markets. Similar restrictions are provided for enterprises in the energy sector and the defense industry.