The eighth country severed diplomatic relations with Qatar

Types Of Port-Louis

The Republic of Mauritius announced the severance of diplomatic relations with the Republic of Qatar. As reported by Saudi news site Sabq, Port Louis supports measures against Doha taken by Saudi Arabia and other States in the region.

Thus, the island nation of Mauritius became the eighth country to sever diplomatic relations with Qatar because of suspicions of supporting terrorism.

Earlier, on 5 June, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Bahrain and the UAE announced the rupture of diplomatic relations with Qatar, accusing Doha of supporting terrorist organisations, including the banned in Russia “Islamic state” (IG) and “al-Qaeda”, as well as committing acts to destabilize the political situation in these Arab States. To their solution later joined by Yemen, Libya and the Maldives.

Later, Iran announced that it is ready to begin deliveries of food products to Qatar on the background of the imposition of restrictions on the part of some Arab States. According to the head of the Association of exporters of agricultural products of Iran Reza nurani, products can be imported within 12 hours.