France opened for voting in the second round

France opened for voting in the second round

PARIS, may 7 — RIA Novosti, Victoria Ivanova. The polls to vote in the second round of elections of the President of France opened in the French metropolis at 08.00 local time (09.00 GMT).

In the second round for the presidency are fighting the leader of the movement “Forward”, the former Minister of the economy Emmanuel macron, who scored in the first round 24,01% of the votes and the candidate from the party “national front” marine Le Pen (21.3 per cent).

The first round of elections was held on 23 April. Then came the first Makron, received 24,01% of the votes, and Le Pen was second with 21.3%.

Most of the sites will close at 19.00 local time (20.00 MSK). However, the law provides that the decision of the local authorities the opening time or the closing of polling stations may be shifted, the deadline for the close of polling — 20.00 (21.00 GMT).

This year, in order to avoid leaks in social networks and foreign media, which may affect the completion of the voting, it was decided to move the time the polls closed for an hour only in large cities, they will work until eight in the evening. Thus, the experts will have less hours to have time to track the first results of counting of votes and to make a preliminary assessment of the outcome to the media.

To vote, the people of France can 66 546 thousand polling stations. According to the authorities, in ensure security in the election day will involve about 50 thousand employees of law enforcement bodies.

On Saturday the second round of voting was held in the overseas territories and departments of France. In advance were also able to vote for the French living in USA, Canada and Latin America.

Presidential elections in the Fifth Republic held in the 11th time. The head of state is elected for five years by universal direct secret ballot, in elections can take part citizens aged 18 years — about 47 million voters. Before leaving the position, Francois Hollande, the highest position was occupied by Charles de Gaulle, Georges Pompidou, valéry Giscard d’estaing, françois Mitterrand, Jacques Chirac and Nicolas Sarkozy.