Visa-free regime between Russia and South Africa entered into force

Visa-free regime between Russia and South Africa entered into force

PRETORIA, March 30. /Offset. TASS Alexander Nechayev/. Visa-free travel for a period of three months between Russia and the Republic of South Africa (South Africa) came into force.

In late February, ended on the relevant exchange of notes between the two countries, after which the Russian foreign Ministry said that since March 30, “citizens of Russia and South Africa, not having the intention to work, study or reside in the territory of another state, are exempt from the visa requirement and have the right of entry, stay or transit without a visa for up to 90 days.”

For citizens of Russia visa-free regime is valid once per calendar year, specified in the consular Department of the Embassy of the Russian Federation in South Africa. Also continue to apply the General rules for entry into South Africa of minor children. You must have a birth certificate and permission from the other parent if the child is traveling with one. Both documents must be certified English translations.

The Association of tour operators of Russia (ATOR) believe that visa-free regime will lead to growth of tourist arrivals in South Africa mostly from the regions of Russia, as informed citizens, it was necessary to personally come to Moscow to apply for visa. According to official data, South Africa, the tourist flow from Russia in 2015 amounted to 15 thousand people.