In 2016, the Russian universities opened five military departments

© Dmitry Serebryakov/TASS

MOSCOW, March 27. /TASS/. Five military departments have been opened at Russian universities last year, said the Russian defense Minister Sergei Shoigu.

“In 2016, in accordance with the orders of the government of the Russian Federation was established five military departments, including the Crimean Federal University in Simferopol and Sevastopol state University,” the Minister said at the Board meeting.

Shoigu said that the defense Ministry continues to improve the system of military training of students of higher educational institutions. “The emphasis is on training for the most demanding military occupational specialties, as well as to maintain the necessary mobilization of human resource,” he said.

According to him, students have the opportunity to receive military specialty, not looking up from the main occupations. He stated that the war office constantly receives requests to access the military departments in civilian universities.

“The military departments to greatly enhance the prestige, status and competitiveness of educational institutions, so it is important that the decision on their establishment were taken collectively”, – said Shoigu.