Japan sent a protest to Russia due to naming five of the Kuril Islands

The government of Japan sent a protest to Russia because of the naming of five unnamed Islands in the Kuril chain. This was stated by the Secretary-General of the Cabinet of Ministers of Yoshihide Suga at a press conference in Tokyo, which took place on Tuesday, 14 February, reports TASS.

“This is unacceptable and contrary to the position of Japan. On February 13 we sent a protest to Russia through diplomatic channels,” he said.

13 February, the Prime Minister of Russia Dmitry Medvedev signed a decree on the naming of five of the Kuril Islands. With the corresponding initiative was made by the Sakhalin branch of the Russian geographical society (RGS).

Geographic features were named after Lieutenant General Kuzma Derevyanko, diplomat Andrei Gromyko, former Governor of Sakhalin Igor Farkhutdinov, the General-Lieutenant Alexey Gnecco and captain Anna Shchetinina.

After the Second world war between Moscow and Tokyo have not signed a peace Treaty. The main obstacle is the unresolved dispute over the southern Kuril Islands: Iturup, Kunashir, Shikotan and the Habomai group.