Five of the Kuril Islands received the names of

Five unnamed Kuril Islands were named. The corresponding order, as reported by TASS, was signed by Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev.

Now the geographic features are named after Lieutenant General Kuzma Derevyanko, diplomat Andrei Gromyko, former Governor of Sakhalin Igor Farkhutdinov, the General-Lieutenant Alexey Gnecco and captain Anna Shchetinina.

The initiative to name one of the Islands was made by the Sakhalin branch of the Russian geographical society (RGS).

“The names that appeared on the map of Russia, unfortunately, forgotten. We know that was an act of surrender of Japan (1945 — approx. “Of the”), and the fact that it was signed by General Kuzma Derevyanko — don’t remember,” said Chairman of the regional branch offices of the RGS Sergei Ponomarev.