The Russian Embassy explained the refusal of entry to the Norwegian MPs

Embassy of Russia in Norway

Two Norwegian MPs, who sat on the parliamentary event in Moscow due to non-issuance of visas, refused entry as a response to the accession of Norway to the EU sanctions and the discriminatory procedure of admission of Russian citizens to Svalbard. This was reported in the Russian Embassy in Oslo, reports RIA Novosti.

Parliamentarians listed, said the Embassy. There also expressed regret over the postponement of the visit of the delegation of Norwegian MPs to Moscow.

In connection with the refusal of entry parliamentarians cancelled a trip to the Russian capital. During the visit, the head of the Committee on foreign Affairs and defence of the Norwegian Parliament Ms. Huitfeld was supposed to meet with the President of the international Federation Council Committee Konstantin Kosachev. The talks were scheduled for 2-3 February and was to become the first at this level for the last three years.

In August 2015 the Norwegian government has limited access to Svalbard defendants in the sanctions list of the UN Security Council and persons under international restrictions. It was a reaction to a visit to the archipelago in April of the same year, Russian Deputy Prime Minister Dmitry Rogozin, who in March 2014 was denied entry to the EU. Norway, not being EU member, has consistently adhered to all packages of the EU sanctions against Moscow and distributed constraints including Rogozin.